Online Catalogue

Basket Items:     Value:     

<< Back

Ann Richards: Four Classic Albums (I’m Shooting High / The Many Moods Of Ann Richards / Two Much! / Ann, Man!) (2CD)

Ann Richards: Four Classic Albums (I’m Shooting High / The Many Moods Of Ann Richards / Two Much! / Ann, Man!) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1239

(UK Postage Free )


People who bought this item also bought:
1. Jessica Walker: A Quiet Girl (CD) (Ref: JWCD001)
2. June Christy: Five Classic Albums (June’s Got Rhythm / This Is June Christy / The Song Is June / Those Kenton Days / Off Beat) (2CD) (Ref: AMSC1392)
3. Etta James: Five Classic Albums (Miss Etta James / At Last! / Second Time Around / Etta James / Sings For Lovers) (2CD) (Ref: AMSC1264)
AVID Jazz continues with its Four Classic album series with a re-mastered 2CD release from Ann Richards, complete with original artwork and liner notes.
“I’m Shooting High”; “The Many Moods of Ann Richards”; “Two Much” and “Ann Man!”
Born Margaret Ann Borden in San Diego in 1935 and later changing her name to Ann Richards in her teens, Ann began singing at ten and by her late teens had started her search for work as a jazz singer. She followed the dance bands and soon found herself joining the band of Charlie Barnet before meeting Stan Kenton in 1955. At that time Kenton was already a huge name in the music world and was enjoying a roller coaster career as a bandleader. Although twenty years older than Ann, Stan was not only attracted to her voice and the pair were soon married. Kenton took Ann on the road with him and secured a recording contract for her. We are pleased to feature Ann’s first four fine albums which are classics of the genre before she slipped into relative retirement raising her two children by Kenton, who she divorced in 1961. Thereafter she made a few albums and some occasional live appearances before ultimately her story sadly ended in tragedy when she took her own life in 1982.

1-12: ‘I’m Shooting High’
1. I’m Shooting High
2. Moanin’ Low
3. Nightingale
4. Blues In My Heart
5. I’ve Got To Pass Your House To Get To My House
6. Deep Night
7. Poor Little Rich Girl
8. Should I
9. I’m In The Market For You
10. Absence Makes The Heart Grow Fonder (For Somebody Else)
11. Lullaby Of Broadway
12. Will You Still Be Mine?
13-24: ‘The Many Moods of Ann Richards’
13. By Myself
14. Be Easy, Be Tender
15. Where Did You Go?
16. I’m Gonna Laugh
17. I Gotta Have You
18. Lazy Afternoon
19. Something’s Coming
20. Everytime
21. When The Sun Comes Out
22. Poor Little Extra Girl
23. Seasons Reasons
24. I’m Late

1-10: ‘Two Much!’
1. It’s A Wonderful World
2. The Morning After (The Night Before)
3. I Was The Last One To Know
4. My Kinda Love
5. I Got Rhythm
6. No Moon At All
7. Don’t Be That Way
8. Suddenly I’m Sad
9. Nobody Like My Baby
10. All Or Nothing At All
11-22: ‘Ann, Man!’
11. Yes Sir, That’s My Baby
12. An Occasional Man
13. There’s A Lull In My Life
14. The Masquerade Is Over
15. You Go To My Head
16. Is You Is Or Is You Ain’t My Baby
17. And That’s All
18. Bewitched
19. Evil Gal Blues
20. Love Is A Word For The Blues
21. How Do I Look In Blue?
22. I Couldn’t Sleep A Wink Last Night

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems