Online Catalogue

Basket Items:     Value:     

<< Back

Duke Ellington: Three Classic Albums & More (Historically Speaking - The Duke/Duke Ellington Presents/Ellington 55) (2CD)

Duke Ellington: Three Classic Albums & More (Historically Speaking - The Duke/Duke Ellington Presents/Ellington 55) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC937

(UK Postage Free )


The latest release in the AVID Jazz series represents excellent value for money as we present three cool LP’s from Duke Ellington recorded in the mid fifties. All three have been expertly re-mastered by our engineers and feature on a mid price double CD. And to add even more value we have included an extra eleven tracks recorded in 1953 to complete the set!
Historically Speaking was the Dukes first album for London and is currently only available on Amazon at £25 plus! It features Duke with 14 sidemen playing tunes associated with him from 1926 to 1956. Duke Ellington Presents features the Duke spotlighting some of his many soloists such as the legendary Paul Gonsalves, Ben Webster and of course Johnny Hodges among many others. Ellington 55 features old and new tunes given a modern treatment and including a battery of new soloists.
A real treat for Ellington fans and at a great price from AVID Jazz.

1-12: ‘Historically Speaking – The Duke’
1. East St. Louis Toodle-oo
2. Creole Love Call
3. Stompy Jones
4. The Jeep Is Jumpin’
5. Jack The Bear
6. In A Mellow Tone
7. Ko-Ko
8. Midriff
9. Stomp, Look And Listen
10. Unbooted Character
11. Lonesome Lullaby
12. Upper Manhattan Medical Group
13-22: ‘Duke Ellington Presents…’
13. Summertime
14. Laura
15. I Can’t Get Started
16. My Funny Valentine
17. Everything But You
18. Frustration
19. Cotton Tail
20. Day Dream
21. Deep Purple
22. Blues

1. Indian Summer
2-8: ‘Ellington ‘55’
2. Rockin’ In Rhythm
3. Black And Tan Fantasy
4. Stompin’ At The Savoy
5. In The Mood
6. One O’Clock Jump
7. Honeysuckle Rose
8. Happy Go Lucky Local
9. Flying Home
10-20: from April 1953 sessions
10. Warm Valley
11. Liza
12. Satin Doll
13. Three Little Words
14. Cocktails For Two
15. Star Dust
16. Flamingo
17. My Old Flame
18. Boo-Dah
19. I Can’t Give You Anything But Love
20. Stormy Weather

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems