Online Catalogue

Basket Items:     Value:     

<< Back

Jimmy Smith: Four Classic Albums (The Sermon! / Crazy Baby! / Jimmy Smith’s House Party / Midnight Special) (2CD)

Jimmy Smith: Four Classic Albums (The Sermon! / Crazy Baby! / Jimmy Smith’s House Party / Midnight Special) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1321

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Jazz continues with its Four Classic Album series with a re-mastered 2CD second set release from Jimmy Smith, complete with original artwork, liner notes and personnel details
“The Sermon”; “Crazy! Baby”; “House Party” and “Midnight Special”
We don’t think we would find many detractors if we were to say that our latest guest artist is probably the most famous jazz Hammond organist in the world. Mr Jimmy Smith, or to give him his rightful name The Incredible Jimmy Smith spent his formative years in the early 1950s in R&B bands playing piano and dabbling with the Hammond organ. After hearing Wild Bill Davis he made the permanent switch to the Hammond and was soon discovered by Blue Note supremo Alfred Lion. Smith was incredibly prolific, (hmm, perhaps that’s where the name came from?), recording over forty sessions for Blue Note in a period of just eight years. He made many classic albums and we at AVID think we have snagged four of his best! Here’s a few of the names on these swinging platters. Tina Brooks, Lou Donaldson, George Coleman, Lee Morgan, Kenny Burrell, Art Blakey, Curtis Fuller, Donald Bailey and Stanley Turrentine. Check out also Classic Organists AMSC1306, Lou Donaldson AMSC1251, Art Blakey AMSC1017 and AMSC1269, Curtis Fuller AMSC1326, Lee Morgan AMSC1255, Kenny Burrell AMSC1327, Stanley Turrentine AMSC1319.

1-3: ‘The Sermon!’
1. The Sermon
2. J.O.S.
3. Flamingo
4-10: ‘Crazy! Baby’
4. When Johnny Comes Marching Home
5. Makin’ Whoopee
6. A Night In Tunisia
7. Sonnymoon For Two
8. Mack The Knife
9. What’s New
10. Alfredo

1-4: ‘Jimmy Smith’s House Party’
1. Au Privave
2. Lover Man
3. Just Friends
4. Blues After All
5-9: ‘Midnight Special’
5. Midnight Special
6. A Subtle One
7. Jumpin’ The Blues
8. Why Was I Born
9. One O’Clock Jump

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems