Online Catalogue

Basket Items:     Value:     

<< Back

Johnny Lytle: Four Classic Albums (Blue Vibes / Happy Ground / Nice And Easy / Moon Child) (2CD)

Johnny Lytle: Four Classic Albums (Blue Vibes / Happy Ground / Nice And Easy / Moon Child) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1275

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Jazz continues with its Four Classic album series with a re-mastered 2CD release from Johnny Lytle complete with original artwork and liner notes.
“Blue Vibes”; “Happy Ground”; “Nice & Easy”; and “Moon Child”
Browsing through the Avid jazz catalogue, you may be forgiven for thinking we have a thing for vibes players! Well, actually, you may be on to something there. We are proud to list the following vibists in our extensive range of jazz classics. Teddy Charles (AMSC1174); Walt Dickerson (AMSC1183); Victor Feldman (AMSC1045); Stan Getz & Cal Tjader (AMSC1234) Terry Gibbs (AMSC1100 & 1095); Lionel Hampton (AMSC1093 & 993); Milt Jackson (AMSC979 & 769); The Modern Jazz Quartet (AMSC945 & 1226); Dave Pike (AMSC1249) and Lem Winchester (AMSC1161). To this fine roster we can now add Mr Johnny Lytle. Born into a musical family Johnny started his professional musical career playing drums for the likes of Ray Charles and Jimmy Witherspoon before moving on to the vibes where he began touring as a three piece unit around 1957. Famously encouraged by one of his idols, Lionel Hampton, who declared Johnny to be the best vibes player in the world, Johnny Lytle had an incredibly fast technique and was somewhat of a consummate showman on stage. In fact he became known as “fast hands”. Perhaps because Johnny never recorded for any of the major labels, he never quite gained the attention that he, and vibes greats like Hampton and Milt Jackson thought he deserved. Our four selections find him primarily in a Trio unit with his trusted companion Milton Harris on organ, backed up by either William “Preppy” Hinnant or Albert Heath on drums. On “Nice & Easy” the mood is broken when Johnny lets rip accompanied by firebrand tenor saxophonist Johnny Griffin, Bobby Timmons on piano, Sam Jones on bass and Louis Hayes on drums.

1-7: ‘Blue Vibes’
1. Blue Vibes
2. Over The Rainbow
3. For Heaven’s Sake
4. Movin’ Nicely
5. Autumn Leaves
6. Mister Strudel
7. Canadian Sunset
8-15: ‘Happy Ground’
8. Lela
9. Secret Love
10. When I Fall In Love
11. Tag Along
12. It’s Alright With Me
13. Happy Ground
14. My Funny Valentine
15. Take the “A” Train

1-7: ‘Nice And Easy’
1. But Not For Me
2. Soul Time
3. That’s All
4. 322-Wow!
5. Coroners Blues
6. Nice And Easy
7. Old Folks
8-15: ‘Moon Child’
8. Moon Child
9. Work Song
10. The Nearness Of You
11. The Moor Man
12. A Taste Of Honey
13. When My Dreamboat Comes Home
14. Moonlight In Vermont
15. The House Of Winchester

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems