Online Catalogue

Basket Items:     Value:     

<< Back

Ruth Brown: Four Classic Albums (Rock & Roll / Miss Rhythm / Late Date With Ruth Brown / Along Comes Ruth) (2CD)

Ruth Brown: Four Classic Albums (Rock & Roll / Miss Rhythm / Late Date With Ruth Brown / Along Comes Ruth) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1265

(UK Postage Free )


People who bought this item also bought:
1. T-Bone Walker: Five Classic Albums (Classics In Jazz / Sings The Blues / T-Bone Blues / Singing The Blues / I Get So Weary) (2CD) (Ref: AMSC1359)
AVID R&B continues with its Four Classic Album series with a re-mastered 2CD release from Ruth Brown complete with original artwork, liner notes and personnel details (where available)
“Rock & Roll”; “Miss Rhythm”; “Late Date with Ruth Brown” and “Along Comes Ruth”
The Queen of R&B, otherwise known as Miss Ruth Brown had a classic, storybook adventure musical beginning when in 1945 she ran away from home at the age of 17 with musician Jimmy Brown to sing in bars and clubs, before joining Lucky Millinders orchestra for a short spell and, oh, let’s not forget, marrying the aforementioned Mr Brown! Later she was managed by the sister of Cab Calloway, Blanche, who was also a bandleader who secured her gigs which would ultimately lead her to being spotted playing with Duke Ellington by a local DJ who recommended her to head of Atlantic Records Ahmet Ertegun. Following a devastating car crash Ruth was unable to attend the audition with Atlantic but was nevertheless signed to them from her hospital bed where she has been for nine months! By 1948, having heard Ruth singing mainly pop ballads of the day, Ertegun suggested that Ruth should change her style and sing R&B. From here Ruth’s career really began to take off and before long she became known as Miss Rhythm and later the Queen of R&B. Between 1949 and 1955 she spent 149 weeks in the charts, had 16 top 10 hits and 5 number 1’s. Her first pop crossover hit was Lucky Lips in 1957 but she primarily stayed within the R&B musical universe.

1-14: ‘Rock & Roll’
1. Lucky Lips
2. As Long As I’m Moving
3. Wild Wild Young Men
4. Daddy Daddy
5. Mambo Baby
6. Teardrops From My Eyes
7. Hello Little Boy
8. Mama, He Treats Your Daughter Mean
9. 5-10-15 Hours
10. It’s Love Baby
11. Sentimental Journey
12. Old Man River
13. So Long
14. Oh What A Dream
15-26: ‘Miss Rhythm’
15. This Little Girl’s Gone Rockin’
16. Just Too Much
17. I Hope We Meet (On The Road Some Day)
18. Why Me
19. Somebody Touched Me
20. When I Get You Baby
21. Jack O Diamonds
22. I Can’t Hear A Word You Say
23. One More Time
24. Book Of Lies
25. I Can See Everybody’s Baby
26. Show Me

1-12: ‘Late Date With Ruth Brown’
1. It Could Happen To You
2. Why Don’t You Do Right
3. Bewitched
4. I’m Just A Lucky So And So
5. I Can Dream, Can’t I
6. You And The Night And The Music
7. You’d Be So Nice To Come Home To
8. We’ll Be Together Again
9. I’m Beginning To See The Light
10. I Loves You Porgy
11. No One Ever Tells You
12. Let’s Face The Music And Dance
13-24: ‘Along Comes Ruth’
13. Mama, He Treats Your Daughter Mean
14. Cry, Cry, Cry
15. Why Don’t You Write Me
16. It’s Too Late
17. Jim Dandy
18. So Little Time
19. Sea Of Love
20. Shake A Hand
21. Love, Love, Love
22. I Cried A Tear
23. Please Accept My Love
24. The Treasure Of Love

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems