Online Catalogue

Basket Items:     Value:     

<< Back

Lou Donaldson: Four Classic Albums (Blues Walk / Gravy Train / Lou Takes Off / Here ’Tis) (2CD)

Lou Donaldson: Four Classic Albums (Blues Walk / Gravy Train / Lou Takes Off / Here ’Tis) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1251

(UK Postage Free )


People who bought this item also bought:
1. Walt Dickerson: Four Classic Albums (This Is Walt Dickerson / Sense Of Direction / Relativity / To My Queen) (2CD) (Ref: AMSC1183)
2. Bob Brookmeyer: Four Classic Albums (Recorded Fall 1961 / Brookmeyer / Tonite’s Music Today / The Blues Hot And Cold) (2CD) (Ref: AMSC1054)
3. Tal Farlow: Three Classic Albums Plus (Autumn In New York / The Swinging Guitar Of Tal Farlow / This Is Tal Farlow) (2CD) (Ref: AMSC1086)
AVID Jazz continues with its Four Classic album series with a re-mastered 2CD release by Lou Donaldson, complete with original artwork and liner notes.
“Blues Walk; “Gravy Train”; “Lou Takes Off”; and “Here ‘Tis”
As an alto saxophonist, Lou Donaldson seemed to spend his early jazz career trying to extricate himself from being styled as a copyist of his acknowledged hero and major influence, Charlie Parker. A tricky thing to do of course, as Parker was such a huge presence on the jazz scene at the time, but as his career developed, Lou did begin to create his own, more blues orientated sound. Donaldson’s musical training, as was fairly common at the time, came from his time spent in military service. However by 1952 he had moved to New York to begin his recording career with Blue Note records. Although perhaps not a jazz innovator in the Parker mode, Lou Donaldson certainly had developed his own hard driving, bluesy, bop sound by the time he started recording as leader. Artists he has worked with include; Art Blakey, Clifford Brown, Horace Silver, Thelonious Monk, Sonny Clark, Curtis Fuller, Donald Byrd, Art Taylor, Grant Green and Milt Jackson. Here we present four of his best from Blue Note.

1-6: ‘Blues Walk’
1. Blues Walk
2. Move
3. The Masquerade Is Over
4. Play Ray
5. Autumn Nocturne
6. Callin’ All Cats
7-13: ‘Gravy Train’
7. Gravy Train
8. South Of The Border
9. Polka Dots And Moonbeam
10. Avalon
11. Candy
12. Twist Time
13. Glory Of Love

1-4: ‘Lou Takes Off’
1. Sputnik
2. Dewey Square
3. Strollin’ In
4. Groovin’ High
5-9: ‘Here ‘Tis’
5. A Foggy Day
6. Here ‘Tis
7. Cool Blues
8. Watusi Jump
9. Walk Wid Me

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems