Online Catalogue

Basket Items:     Value:     

<< Back

Herbie Mann: Four Classic Albums (Flute Souffle / Flute Flight / Flute, Brass, Vibes & Percussion / At The Village Gate) (2CD)
AVID Jazz continues with its Four Classic album series with a second re-mastered 2CD release from Herbie Mann, complete with original artwork and liner notes.
“Flute Souffle”; “Flute Flight”; “Flute, Brass, Vibes and Percussion” and “At The Village Gate”
Born into a showbiz family, both his parents were singers and dancers, Herbie Mann began his musical career playing the clarinet in the Catskills, like a good Jewish American boy should! It wasn’t long before he succumbed to the lure of jazz music and was soon playing bass clarinet, tenor sax and the instrument he would become synonymous with, the flute. Starting out as a mostly traditional be-bopper with the likes of Phil Woods, Herbie’s career would take him musically around the world from the latin rhythms of samba and bossa nova to reggae and much later even the dreaded disco. But rest assured we have primarily stayed with Herbie’s more straight ahead jazz style where here we feature two albums with Herbie teamed up with famed Belgian flutist Bobby Jaspar. We then head to South America for some percussive latin grooves before hitting the clubs for a scintillating night at the Village Gate.

1-4: ‘Flute Souffle’
1. Tel Aviv
2. Somewhere Else
3. Let’s March
4. Chasin’ The Bird
5-9: ‘Flute Flight’
5. Tuttie Flutie
6. Bo Do
7. Flute Bass Blues
8. Flute Bob
9. Solacium

1-6: ‘Flute, Brass, Vibes & Percussion’
1. Dearly Beloved
2. You Stepped Out Of A Dream
3. I’ll Remember April
4. A Ritual
5. Fife ‘N’ Tambourine Corps
6. Autumn Leaves
7-9: ‘At The Village Gate’
7. Comin’ Home Baby
8. Summertime
9. It Ain’t Necessarily So

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems