Online Catalogue

Basket Items:     Value:     

<< Back

Marty Paich: Four Classic Albums (Revel Without A Pause / Marty Paich Trio / The Broadway Bit / I Get A Boot Out Of You) (2CD)

Marty Paich: Four Classic Albums (Revel Without A Pause / Marty Paich Trio / The Broadway Bit / I Get A Boot Out Of You) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1173

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Jazz presents four classic Marty Paich albums, including original liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
“Revel Without A Pause”; “Marty Paich Trio”; “The Broadway Bit” and “I Get A Boot Out Of You”
“With so much emphasis being placed on formats in today’s music market, it’s exhilarating to find musicians such as these who are not fearful of experiment. The writing and playing on this date may one day form the groundwork for wider jazz appreciation, and a clearer definition of the term “commercial” music”. The musicians in question on our first outing “Revel Without A Pause”, were Marty Paich on piano, Stu Williamson on trombone, Jack Sheldon and Dan Fagerquist on trumpets, Bob Enevoldsen on valve trombone, Buddy Clark on bass and Mel Lewis on drums. For our next selection “Marty Paich Trio” “Marty’s arranging and composing talents are as much in evidence in this LP as his playing technique which is an added bonus in this interpretive collection”. The Trio consists of Paich on piano, Red Mitchell on bass and Mel Lewis on drums. For “The Broadway Bit” the original liner notes tell us “In this soulful set Marty Paich swings Broadway’s best, playing extended modern stylings of choice tunes from some great Broadway musicals”. “In the eight years since his graduation, the Paich sound has become famous in musical circles as the solidly based clean New Sound of good modern jazz.” Musicians involved include Marty Paich on piano, Art Pepper on alto sax, Jimmy Guiffre on baritone sax and clarinet, Bill Perkins on tenor sax, Victor Feldman on vibes, Scott Le Faro on bass and Mel Lewis on drums. In “I Get A Boot Out Of You” “both the old and the bold find a home. The album’s chock full of both; it’s a triumph of sound and technique for Marty. When first approached by Warner Bros. Records to do this album, Paich outlined this plan, a collection of memorable swing classics done by men fine enough to give them lasting memorability. The nod was yes and this treasure was born”. Paich band mates include Art Pepper and Bill Perkins on saxes, Conte Candoli on trumpet, Russ Freeman on piano, Joe Mondragon on bass and ever faithful Mel Lewis on drums.
All four albums have been digitally re-mastered.

1-9: ‘Revel Without A Pause’
1. Blue Lou
2. Soft Wind
3. Dinah
4. Iris Of The IRA
5. Jumpin’ At The Woodside
6. Look Around
7. Ida
8. Yardbird Suite
9. Logrolling
10-17: ‘Marty Paich Trio’
10. I Hadn’t Anyone Till You
11. The Facts About Max
12. Dusk Light
13. The New Soft Shoe
14. A Dandy Line
15. El Dorado Blues
16. What’s New
17. By The River Sainte Marie

1-9: ‘The Broadway Bit’
1. It’s All Right With Me
2. I’ve Grown Accustomed To Her Face
3. I’ve Never Been In Love Before
4. I Love Paris
5. Too Close For Comfort
6. Younger Than Springtime / The Surrey With The Fringe On Top
7. If I Were A Bell
8. Lazy Afternoon
9. Just In Time
10-17: ‘I Get A Boot Out Of You’
10. It Don’t Mean A Thing (If It ‘Aint Got That Swing)
11. No More
12. Love For Sale
13. Moanin’
14. Violets For Your Furs
15. What Am I Here For / Cottontail
16. Warm Valley
17. Things ‘Aint What They Used To Be

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems