Online Catalogue

Basket Items:     Value:     

<< Back

Oscar Peterson: Three Classic Albums Plus (Very Tall / On The Town / Oscar Peterson Plays Count Basie) (2CD)
AVID Jazz here presents three classic Oscar Peterson albums plus including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
“Oscar Peterson Trio with Milt Jackson: Very Tall”; “Oscar Peterson Plays Count Basie”; “On The Town” plus side one of “Oscar Peterson Trio at Stratford (Canada) Shakespearean Festival”.
For our first selection “Very Tall” we feature the meeting of two giants of jazz with two very different approaches to playing. Our featured artist Oscar Peterson, literally and musically a giant of the piano with his “formidably cohesive” style is joined by Milt Jackson vibes player with the Modern Jazz Quartet with his “unshakeably relaxed” approach. How would these two giants perform together? Peterson, normally a formidable leader within his own bands, remarkably takes a much lighter approach to his playing thus allowing Jackson to take control with his more laid back vibe! Accompanied by Peterson’s trio Ray Brown on bass and Ed Thigpen on drums the Quartet conclude with “Reunion Blues” a free flowing summation of previous proceedings . Recorded live on July 5th 1958 at the Town Tavern Club Toronto “On The Town” finds the classic Oscar Peterson Trio, Oscar. Ray Brown and Herb Ellis, in stunning form. Ably summed up by legendary composer, arranger and musician Gunther Schuller in the original liner notes…….”Oscar himself is a tremendously swinging pianist…….he can swing on two levels………very soft and delicate………and he can be very strong armed in his swing…….as a Trio….there is nothing comparable to this particular combination…Oscar, Ray and Herb”. The Trio becomes a Quartet for “Oscar Peterson Plays Count Basie” when they are joined by legendary drummer Buddy Rich. Oscar’s tribute to Count Basie includes Basie classics like “One O’Clock Jump” plus songs from Basie alumni including Lester Young and Earl Ronald Warren as well as Oscar’s own tribute “Blues For Basie”. Once again we join the classic Peterson Trio as they play live at the “Stratford (Canada) Shakespeare Festival” in 1956. The original liner notes were written by Oscar himself and sum up his feelings towards this album………….referring to the process of a live recording………………”I honestly believe that this recording of the Trio at the Stratford Shakespeare Festival is our best to date”…..”As for myself I have never felt more relaxed and at ease at a recording session……I feel that it shows in my playing”. I think we would all agree with that!
All three albums plus have been digitally re-mastered

1-6: ‘Very Tall’
1. On Green Dolphin Street
2. Heartstrings
3. Work Song
4. John Brown’s Body
5. A Wonderful Guy
6. Reunion Blues
7-12: ‘On The Town’
7. Sweet Georgia Brown
8. Should I
9. When Lights Are Low
10. Easy Listenin’ Blues
11. Pennies From Heaven
12. The Champ

1: ‘On The Town’
1. Moonlight In Vermont
2-11: ‘Oscar Peterson Plays Count Basie’
2. Lester Leaps In
3. Easy Does It
4. 9:20 Special
5. Jumping At The Woodside
6. Blues For Basie
7. Broadway
8. Blue And Sentimental
9. Topsy
10. One O’Clock Jump
11. Jive At Five
12. Falling In Love With Love from At The Stratford Shakespearean Festival
13. How About You from At The Stratford Shakespearean Festival
14. Flamingo from At The Stratford Shakespearean Festival
15. Swinging On A Star from At The Stratford Shakespearean Festival
16. Noreen’s Nocturne from At The Stratford Shakespearean Festival

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems