Online Catalogue

Basket Items:     Value:     

<< Back

Benny Goodman: Three Classic Albums Plus (Benny Goodman In Moscow Record One / Benny Goodman In Moscow Record Two / Happy Session) (2CD)
AVID Jazz here presents three classic Benny Goodman albums plus including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
“Benny Goodman In Moscow Records 1 & 2”, “Happy Session” and four tracks from “Benny Goodman Swings Again”
“Benny Goodman In Moscow Records 1 & 2” - Following a visit to Moscow by George Avakian to discuss a classical music cultural exchange Benny Goodman’s name came up as a musician who played classical and was also of Russian decent. This led to his being invited to tour Russia with his own orchestra to play jazz. Hearing that the Russians had great enthusiasm for American jazz Goodman chose a young band of musicians and commissioned young arrangers to write for the orchestra. These included Phil Woods on alto, Zoot Sims on tenor and Joe Newman on trumpet (who all played every solo on their respective instruments). Others included Mel Lewis on drums, Teddy Wilson on piano, Turk Van Lake on guitar and Bill Crow on bass. “Happy Session” features Benny Goodman with Quintet and Orchestra and is what it says in the title……a happy and informal session where Benny Goodman and his musicians are clearly having a ball……trying out new songs by young composers like Bobby Gutesha and arrangements by a young pianist called Andre Previn. Musicians include Russ Freeman on piano, George Duvivier on bass, Shelly Manne on drums, Milt Hinton on bass, Barney Kessel on guitar and the aforementioned Andre Previn on piano and arrangements. Our final album features 4 tracks from “Benny Goodman Swings Again” a fine selection of Goodman favourites recorded live at Ciro’s in Hollywood. Hailed as one of the greatest bands Benny had ever led, the musicians include Red Norvo on vibes, Flip Phillips on alto, Russ Freeman on piano, Jim Wyble on guitar and John Markham on drums. To quote just one of many reviews featured in the original liner notes…”Benny is still the king of swing and every performer with him a superb artist…..This is a must……”
All three albums plus have been digitally re-mastered

1-9: ‘Benny Gooodman In Moscow Record One’
1. Introduction into Let’s Dance
2. Mission To Moscow
3. Meet The Band
4. I Got It Bad And That Ain’t Good
5. Why You?
6. Titter Pipes
7. Medley: Avalon / Body And Soul / Rose Room / The World Is Waiting For The Sunrise
8. Bei Mir Bist du Schoen
9. Stealin’ Apples
10-15: ‘Benny Gooodman In Moscow Record Two’
10. Feathers
11. On The Alamo
12. Midgets
13. One O’ Clock Jump
14. Bye Bye Blackbird
15. Swift As The Wind

1-3: ‘Benny Gooodman In Moscow Record Two’
1. Fontainebleau
2. Meadowland
3. Goodbye
4-13: ‘Happy Session’
4. Happy Session Blues
5. You’d Be So Nice To Come Home To
6. King And Me
7. Indian Summer
8. What A Diff’rence A Day Made
9. Batunga Train
10. Having A Ball
11. Clarinet A La King
12. Macedonia Lullaby
13. Diga Diga Doo
14. Air Mail Special from Benny Goodman Swings Again
15. Slipped Disc from Benny Goodman Swings Again
16. Where Or When from Benny Goodman Swings Again
17. Sing Sing Sing (With A Swing) from Benny Goodman Swings Again

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems