Online Catalogue

Basket Items:     Value:     

<< Back

Chris Connor: Four Classic Albums Plus (Sings Lullabys Of Birdland / Chris / This Is Chris / Chris Connor) (2CD)

Chris Connor: Four Classic Albums Plus (Sings Lullabys Of Birdland / Chris / This Is Chris / Chris Connor) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1089

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Jazz here presents four classic Chris Connor albums plus including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
“Lullaby Of Birdland”; “Chris”; “This Is Chris”; “Chris Connor” and side one of “He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not”.
A series of firsts greet our first selection of our tribute to legendary jazz vocalist Chris Connor, “Sings Lullaby of Birdland”. Her first job singing with a trio, her first recording contract and her first LP record! The trio in question comprises Ellis Larkins on piano, Everett Barksdale (from Art Tatum’s band) on guitar and Beverly Peer on bass. Her second album “Chris” features tracks from her first date for Bethlehem which were arranged and conducted by Sy Oliver. For her third album “This Is Chris” her reputation was beginning to grow as can be seen in her fine company of musicians. Chris is joined by Ralph Sharon on piano, Milt Hinton on bass, Osie Johnson on drums, Joe Puma on guitar, Herbie Mann on flute and Kai Wiinding and JJ Johnson on trombones. Her performance is one of an artist who has arrived, an artist who has established herself amongst her contemporaries. As these three albums we made up of selections from Bethlehem sessions from December 1953 - April 1955 we have presented the tracks in chronological order instead of album order. On “Chris Connor” from February 1956 Chris once again shows off her ability to choose interesting and unconventional songs, often long forgotten or overlooked. Moving away from her jazz roots for another 1956 recording date Chris “turns frankly sentimental” for “He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not”. Chris is here accompanied by a large orchestra made up of strings, woodwind, reeds and rhythm, conducted by Ralph Burns who also wrote the arrangements.
All four albums have been digitally re-mastered.

1-28: ‘Bethlehem Sessions: December 1953 - April 1955’
1. Blue Silhouette
2. Miser’s Serenade (Chris)
3. Ask Me
4. Chiquita From Chi-Wah-Wah
5. Everything I Love (Chris)
6. Indian Summer (Chris)
7. What Is There To Say (Lullaby Of Birdland)
8. I Hear Music (Lullaby Of Birdland / Chris)
9. Come Back To Sorrento (Lullaby Of Birdland / Chris)
10. Why Shouldn’t I (Lullaby Of Birdland)
11. Try A Little Tenderness (Lullaby Of Birdland)
12. Lullaby Of Birdland (Lullaby Of Birdland)
13. All About Ronnie (Lullaby Of Birdland / Chris)
14. Spring Is Here (Lullaby Of Birdland)
15. Out Of This World (Chris)
16. Lush Life (Chris)
17. A Cottage For Sale
18. How Long Has This Been Going On
19. Goodbye
20. Stella By Starlight
21. Gone With The Wind
22. He’s Coming Home
23. Blame It On My Youth (This Is Chris)
24. Ridin’ High (This Is Chris)
25. It’s All Right With Me (This Is Chris)
26. All Dressed Up With A Broken Heart (This Is Chris)
27. Trouble Is A Man (This Is Chris)
28. All This And Heaven Too (This Is Chris)

1-6: ‘Bethlehem Sessions: December 1953 - April 1955’
1. From This Moment On (Chris / This Is Chris)
2. The Thrill Is Gone (This Is Chris)
3. Someone To Watch Over Me (This Is Chris)
4. I Concentrate On You (This Is Chris)
5. Don’t Wait Up For Me (Chris)
6. A Good Man Is A Seldom Thing (Chris)
7. In Other Words (Chris)
8-19: ‘Chris Connor’
8. I Get A Kick Out Of You
9. Something To Live For
10. Get Out Of Town
11. Where Are You
12. Anything Goes
13. When The Wind Was Green
14. He Was Too Good To Me
15. You Make Me Feel So Young
16. Everytime
17. Way Out There
18. My April Heart
19. Almost Like Being In Love
20. High On A Windy Hill from He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not
21. Round About from He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not
22. Angel Eyes from He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not
23. You Stepped Out Of A Dream from He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not
24. Why Can’t I from He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not
25. Suddenly It’s Spring from He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems