Online Catalogue

Basket Items:     Value:     

<< Back

Bud Shank: Four Classic Albums (Blowin’ Country / Bud Shank With Shorty Rogers & Bill Perkins / Bud Shank And Three Trombones / Jazz At Cal-Tech) (2CD)

Bud Shank: Four Classic Albums (Blowin’ Country / Bud Shank With Shorty Rogers & Bill Perkins / Bud Shank And Three Trombones / Jazz At Cal-Tech) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1087

(UK Postage Free )


People who bought this item also bought:
1. Jacques Loussier: Four Classic Albums (Play Bach Vol 1 / Play Bach Vol 2 / Play Bach Vol 3 / Jacques Loussier Joue Kurt Weill) (2CD) (Ref: AMSC1101)
AVID Jazz here presents four classic (and hard to find or expensive) Bud Shank albums including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
“Blowin’ Country”; Bud Shank with Bill Perkins/Shorty Rogers”; “Bud Shank And Three Trombones” and “Jazz At Cal-Tech”
For our second excursion into “Shank-land” we kick off with the excellent “Blowin’ Country” (which has nothing to do with country music so “don’t panic!). This fine album sees another collaboration between two ex- Stan Kentonites, Bud Shank and Bob Cooper who both can be heard trading licks across tenor and alto sax, flute, oboe and bass clarinet. Joined by familiar “Shankites”, Claude Williamson on piano, Don Prell on bass and Chuck Flores on drums. Our second release is an album of two sides……….on the first Bud is joined by another long term collaborator, the alto and tenor saxophonist Bill Perkins alongside Hampton Hawes on piano; Red Mitchell on bass and Mel Lewis on drums. The second side features Bud with the writer, arranger and musician Shorty Rogers accompanied by Jimmy Rowles on piano; Harry Babasin on bass and Roy Harte on drums. Shorty wrote all the selections and plays flugle horn throughout the set. CD2 kicks off with “Bud Shank And Three Trombones” which as they say in the ads, does just what it says on the tin……..or in this case cover! It links Bud on alto with the three valve trombones of Bob Enevoldsen, Maynard Ferguson and Stu Williamson (brother of Claude). The object being as it states on the original liner notes……”to place Shank’s alto in juxtoposition to a full section of valve trombones to enable him to play the role of a complete reed section against a three man brass team……………..instrumentation almost unique in jazz”. The rest of the band is made up of long term associate Claude Williamson on piano, Joe Mondragon on bass and Shelly Manne on drums. We conclude with “Jazz At Cal Tech” recorded live in 1956 at the California Institute of Technology to an appreciative audience of science and engineering students. Shank is again joined by Bob Cooper on tenor and oboe, Claude Willamson on piano, Don Prell on bass and Chuck Flores on drums. All four albums are plus have been digitally re-mastered. Some are also currently hard to find or expensive, so Avid are pleased to be able to make them available once again.

1-10: ‘Blowin Country’
1. Dinah
2. Mutual Admiration Society
3. Steve Allen Theme
4. I’ve Grown Accustomed To Her Face
5. Blowin’ Country
6. Love Nest
7. As Long As There’s Music
8. Just In Time
9. Two Lost Souls
10. Sweet Georgia Brown
11-21: ‘Bud Shank with Shorty Rogers & Bill Perkins’
11. Paradise
12. Fluted Columns
13. I Hear Music
14. Royal Garden Blues
15. A Sinner Kissed An Angel
16. It Had To Be You
17. Shank’s Pranks
18. Lotus Bud
19. Left Bank
20. Jasmine
21. Just A Few

1: ‘Bud Shank with Shorty Rogers & Bill Perkins’
1. Casa De Luz
2-9: ‘Bud Shank And Three Trombones’
2. Wailing Vessel
3. Baby’s Birthday
4. You Don’t Know What Love Is
5. Sing Something Simple
6. Valve In Head
7. Cool Fool
8. Little Girl Blue
9. Mobile
10-18: ‘Jazz At Cal –Tech’
10. When Lights Are Low
11. Old Devil Moon
12. The Nearness Of You
13. How Long Has This Been Going On?
14. Tea For Two
15. Lullaby Of Birdland
16. Somebody Loves Me
17. Moonlight In Vermont
18. The King

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems