Online Catalogue

Basket Items:     Value:     

<< Back

Sammy Price: Three Classic Albums Plus (Barrelhouse, Boogie-Woogie And The Blues / After Hours / Sidney Bechet And Sammy Price Bluesicians) (2CD)

Sammy Price: Three Classic Albums Plus (Barrelhouse, Boogie-Woogie And The Blues / After Hours / Sidney Bechet And Sammy Price Bluesicians) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1078

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Jazz here presents three classic Sammy Price albums plus including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
“Barrelhouse, Boogie-Woogie and The Blues”; “After Hours”; “Sidney Bechet with Sammy Price & his Bluesicians” and 6 of 8 tracks from “A Real Jam Session”
By the time Sammy Price came to record our first selection in 1958 “Barrelhouse, Boogie and the Blues” with his Kaycee Stompers he had been playing his piano style for over 20 years. Travelling and touring America from Texas to Louisiana to Pittsburgh to Florida and Kansas City. He was a seasoned veteran having played with Count Basie, Hot Lips Page, Jimmy Rushing, Joe Turner and Mary Lou Williams. Joining Price are Vic Dickenson on trombone, Jonah Jones on trumpet, Pete Brown on alto sax, Milt Hinton on bass and Cozy Cole on drums. 12 scintillating blues and barrelhouse boogie stompers greet us on “After Hours” Sammy Price and his All Stars-twin guitars Mickey Baker and Al Casey, Al Lucas on bass and Panama Francis on drums hit the ground running and your feet will not stop tapping until the “Wee Hours”! The album “Sidney Bechet with Sammy Price and his Bluesicians” came out of a five month tour of France Sammy made with Bechet (a big star in the jazz loving country). Bechet was familiar with most of the Bluesicians and welcomed the two he didn’t know, Emett Berry and George Stevenson as can be heard in the musical results on this fine relaxed session. Back to 1955 for “A Real Jam Session” where selected tracks from which are featured across CD1 and CD2. With Sammy Price and his Bluesicians blowing up a storm.
All three albums plus have been digitally re-mastered.

1-11: ‘Barrelhouse, Boogie-Woogie And The Blues’
1. Jumpin’ On 57th
2. Sam’s Pretty Blues
3. If I Could Be With You
4. Pete’s Delta Bound
5. Jonah Whales Again
6. Stormy Weather
7. Walkin’ And Shoutin’ The Boogie
8. Please Don’t Talk About Me When I’m Gone
9. Manhattan Blues
10. Rockin’ The Rocket
11. Shakin’ And Rattlin’
12. Swingin’ Paris Style from A Real Jam Session
13. Blue Berry from A Real Jam Session
14. Big Mouth Steve From Baltimore from A Real Jam Session
15. USA Romp from A Real Jam Session

1-12: ‘After House’
1. Roll ‘Em Sam
2. Kansa City Boogie Woogie Stomp
3. Boogie Cha-Cha
4. N’Orleans Blues
5. Levee
6. Saints Boogie
7. Blue Drag
8. Honky Tonk Caboose
9. Pack Up ‘N Boogie
10. Chicken Strut
11. Boogie Woogie Slop
12. Wee Hours
13-20: ‘Sidney Bechet And Sammy Price Bluesicians’
13. St. Louis Blues
14. Darktown Strutter’s Ball
15. Back Home
16. Memphis Blues
17. Yes, We Have No Bananas Today
18. Dinah
19. Tin Roof Blues
20. Jazz Me Blues
21. Paris Lament from A Real Jam Session
22. Janine Boogie from A Real Jam Session

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems