Online Catalogue

Basket Items:     Value:     

<< Back

Teddi King: Four Classic Albums Plus (Bidin’ My Time / To You From Teddi King / A Girl And Her Songs / All The King’s Song) (2CD)

Teddi King: Four Classic Albums Plus (Bidin’ My Time / To You From Teddi King / A Girl And Her Songs / All The King’s Song) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1059

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Jazz here presents four classic Teddi King albums plus, including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
“Bidin’ My Time”; “To You From Teddi King”; “A Girl and Her Songs” “All The Kings Songs” plus selections from “Miss Teddi King”
One of the threads running through the story of Teddi Kings career (other than continued reference to her gamine appearance!) has been her ability to tread a fine line between performing as a popular singer and a jazz singer. By her own admission, according to the original liner notes for “Bidin’ My Time” she’s singing “commercial jazz……middle of the road…….the Sinatra approach”. This approach enabled her to appeal to music lovers and the general public and perhaps most importantly to get work in both musicals arenas, jazz rooms and festivals like Newport and the more chic night clubs who didn’t want to hear straight ahead jazz! On our first selection “Bidin’ My Time” Teddi is joined by such jazz heavyweights as Al Cohn, Joe Newman, Freddie Green, Hank Jones and Osie Johnson. “To You From Teddi King” finds Teddi joined by George Siravo and his Orchestra for a set of classic tunes arranged and conducted by Siravo in an intimate, tender and sometimes languorous style. George Siravo also conducts and arranges our next selection “A Girl and her Songs” where again the subject of jazz versus commercial/popular raises its head in the original liner notes. We say let you the listener decide!! Our fourth selection “All the Kings Songs” finds Teddi paying tribute to twelve of her favourite vocalists. The list is indeed impressive with one thing about them all in common according to Teddi, their sincerity! And who can argue with a line up that includes Al Jolson, Dick Haynes, Nat Cole, Bing Crosby, Frank Sinatra, Fred Astaire and Louis Armstrong! Finally not forgetting our selections from “Miss Teddi King” described as “the greatest work of her career” on the original liner notes! Here Teddi is in the company of some true jazz giants, Jimmy Jones on piano, Jo Johnson on drums, Milt Hinton on bass and Ruby Braff on trumpet. Here Teddi finally lays down her jazz vocalist credentials in fine style. Not bad for someone who started her career playing Peter Pan on the stage!
All four albums plus have been digitally re-mastered for probably the finest ever sound quality!

1-12: ‘Bidin’ My Time’
1. Bidin’ My Time
2. Once Too Often
3. That Old Feeling
4. The I’m Not Supposed To Be Blue Blues
5. Careless Love
6. For All We Know
7. When I Grow Too Old To Dream
8. I’m In Love With The Honorable Mr. So And So
9. I Can’t Get Started
10. Love Walked In
11. I Poured My Heart Into A Song
12. Taking A Chance On Love
13-24: ‘To You From Teddi King’
13. The Way You Look Tonight
14. You Go To My Head
15. Where Have You Been?
16. How Come You Do Me Like You Do?
17. The Touch Of Your Lips
18. If I Could Be With You One Hour Tonight
19. I Can’t Believe That You’re In Love With Me
20. All I Need Is You
21. The Very Thought Of You
22. Mr, You’ve Gone And Got The Blues
23. To You
24. When Did You Leave Heaven?
25. I Saw Stars from Miss Teddi King
26. Love Is A Now And Then Thing from Miss Teddi King
27. Love Is Here To Stay from Miss Teddi King

1-12: ‘A Girl And Her Songs’
1. A Sailboat In The Moonlight
2. Nothin’ For Nothin’
3. After All It’s Spring
4. My Future Just Passed
5. You Don’t Know What Love Is
6. Indian Summer
7. Chicken Today And Feathers Tomorrow
8. Porgy
9. Laughing At Life
10. Autumn In New York
11. Why Shouldn’t I?
12. Alone Together
13-24: ‘All The King’s Songs’
13. April Showers
14. A Cottage For Sale
15. That’s For Me
16. Temptation
17. Unforgettable
18. Keepin’ Out Of Mischief Now
19. Flamingo
20. June In January
21. You Brought A New Kind Of Love To Me
22. This Love Of Mine
23. When It’s Sleepy Time Down South
24. Let’s Face The Music And Dance
25. It’s The Talk Of The Town from Miss Teddi King
26. I Guess I’ll Have To Change My Plan from Miss Teddi King
27. It’s All In The Mind from Miss Teddi King

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems