Online Catalogue

Basket Items:     Value:     

<< Back

Harry Edison: Three Classic Albums Plus (The Swinger / Mr Swing-Harry Edison / Gee, Baby Aint I Good To You) (2CD)

Harry Edison: Three Classic Albums Plus (The Swinger / Mr Swing-Harry Edison / Gee, Baby Aint I Good To You) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1037

(UK Postage Free )


Avid Jazz here presents three classic Harry Edison albums plus including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
Let’s meet Harry Edison the studio horn man of choice for both Frank Sinatra and Ella Fitzgerald! Again we will use a few well chosen quotes from the original sleeve notes to convey what you can expect on these finely re-mastered albums. “The Swinger”……..In the words of Quincy Jones , then a rookie player himself…”it was the directness of what he did that made such an impression on me…..he swung straight ahead……….he has ……….pure heart”. “Mr Swing - Harry Edison” using the same personnel as The Swinger, Jimmy Forrest tenor, Jimmy Jones piano, Freddie Green guitar, Joe Benjamin bass and Charlie Persip on drums, we find “Sweets” in a more informal setting than his usual hot swinging mood………..”uncomplicated and plenty of room to solo”. “Gee Baby Ain’t I Good To You” …………take a look at that line up…….Sweets himself, Ben Webster, Oscar Peterson, Ray Brown, Barney Kessel, Herb Ellis and Alvin Stoller on drums. The relaxed mood continues with Webster displaying an ever richer sound with his tenor. The plus comprises seven of nine tracks from the album “Sweets”. As named by Lester Young, Sweets pretty much takes full ownership of this set, arranging all the selections and writing six of them. Let’s finish with our last quote from the Sweets album………….”Sweets Edison does have a readily identifiable sound…….a powerful, virile, insinuating sound that is one of the most interesting around today………one which will be fresh when all the ephemeral cult sounds have been forgotten”.
All three of our selections are hard to find on any format and have been digitally re-mastered for probably the finest ever sound quality!

1-6: ‘The Swinger’
1. Pussy Willow
2. The Very Thought Of You
3. Nasty
4. The Strollers
5. Sunday
6. Fair Ground
7-11: ‘Mr Swing-Harry Edison’
7. Love Is Here To Stay
8. Short Coat
9. Baby, Won’t You Please Come Home
10. Impressario
11. Ill Wind

1-7: ‘Gee Baby Ain’t I Good To You’
1. Blues For Piney Brown
2. Blues For The Blues
3. Blues For Bill Basie
4. Gee, Baby Ain’t I Good To You
5. You’re Getting To Be A Habit With Me
6. Taste On The Place
7. Moonlight In Vermont
8. Hollering At The Watkins from Sweets
9. Used To Be Basie from Sweets
10. How Deep Is The Ocean from Sweets
11. Studio Call from Sweets
12. Love Is Here To Stay from Sweets
13. K.M.Blues from Sweets
14. Walkin’ With Sweets from Sweets

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems