Online Catalogue

Basket Items:     Value:     

<< Back

Ted Heath: The Essential Collection (2CD)

Ted Heath: The Essential Collection (2CD)

Ref: AVC861

(UK Postage Free )


AVID’s Essential Collection series continues this month with a release from a man whom arguably led the greatest big band Britain has ever produced…..Ted Heath.
When he wasn’t running the country or sailing his yacht, Ted Heath and his Orchestra, oh sorry that’s the wrong Ted Heath…….!!!
Our Ted Heath was born March 30th 1900 and was already playing several instruments as a child, finally settling for the trombone in his teens. By 1944 he decided to form his own big band which became a huge success on both sides of the Atlantic. The Ted Heath Orchestras became a fantastic training ground for such great British jazzmen as Ken Baker, John Dankworth, Stanley Black and Jack Parnell and many others. Their greatest success came in the 1950’s but the band continued into the 60’s and even later using the Heath name even after the great man had been recruited to the great bandstand in the sky!
AVID’s usual high standards of re-mastering are in evidence on this well filled double CD covering the essential moments from one of Britain’s great entertainers

1. Walkin’ Shoes
2. Take The A Train
3. Begin The Bequine
4. It Don’t Mean A Thing
5. Darktown Strutters Ball
6. I Get A Kick Out Of You
7. Obsession
8. East Of The Sun (And West of The Moon)
9. Hot Toddy
10. Soho
11. Clementine
12. I’ve Got My Love To Keep Me Warm
13. Flying Home
14. At The Woodchoppers Ball
15. Georgia On My Mind
16. But Not For Me
17. And The Angels Sing
18. Muskrat Ramble
19. Tuxedo Junction
20. Bond Street
21. In A Sentimental Mood
22. Good Bait
23. Jersey Bounce
24. High And The Mighty
25. Heading North

1. Opus 1
2. Intermission Riff
3. Don’t Worry About Me
4. From This Moment On
5. Lonesome Road
6. I’ve Grown Accustomed To Her Face
7. If I Had You
8. Exactly Like You
9. That Old Black Magic
10. High Society
11. King Porter Stomp
12. Anything Goes
13. You Do Something To Me
14. Gone With The Wind
15. In The Still Of The Night
16. I Cried For You
17. Blues In The Night
18. April In Paris
19. Change Partners
20. Time On My Hands
21. Adios
22. Speak Low
23. Blue Moon
24. When The Saints Go Marching In
25. Stardust
26. Robins Nest
27. California Here I Come
28. Listen To My Music

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems